Word of the Week Wednesday 12/8/16

YO!

 

What a world full of paradoxes we live in, and I think I found one this past week. Which makes our word of the week in my first and only fluent language, English:

Cold

Language: English

Part of Speech: Adjective, noun, and adverb (But we are focusing on the noun today!)

Pronunciation: kōld

Definitions:

  1. a low temperature; cold weather; a cold environment.
    “my teeth chattered with the cold
  2. a common infection in which the mucous membrane of the nose and throat becomes inflamed, typically causing running at the nose, sneezing, and a sore throat.

So, I am living in Cambodia right now and “cold” is not a word most would associate with here. In fact, many of my co-workers and friends are telling me how cold it is right now (which is true for the country) and then I show them the temperatures from my hometown in Iowa. One of their responses was asking me how we can possibly live there if it’s that cold. I explained gloves, hats, scarfs, and sweaters. Since this is the environment of my life right now, and I am not living in “the cold,” we will now move to the second definition, which I am more focused on.

Now, I am not the type of person who gets colds. In fact, I almost never get colds. My normal states are either healthy, or dying sick where you cannot do anything. You could say live a life of extremes, never living a lukewarm life. No matter how true this fact may be, it does not excuse the reality that this past week I had a cold, in Cambodia. To be fair, I live in a hostel with 60 college students, and a family including three little kids. The likelihood of anyone in that situation having a cold is high, and once one person has it, the infection only spreads. To be honest, I can’t complain too much about a sore throat, and stuffy nose. It did not overwhelmingly interfere with my life, other than a hard English class where we worked on pronunciation and even I couldn’t say the words normally. This cold, though paradoxical, was only another one of my many lessons here. And I am grateful for that.

Keep Shining,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

